December so far…

I apologize for not posting in a couple of weeks. We’ve been pretty busy. And I was sick one week. Nothing serious like the flu or anything, but I felt bad enough I didn’t want to do anything. I have a good bit of photos, but they are mostly of Sophie, since she’s who I’m with most of the time, so it will look like I’m playing favorites. Christopher just runs too much for me to get a picture of him. Here’s a little of what we have been doing (in no particular order):

Picking up packages at the post office. I hate that they won’t deliver to your house, but what can you do. I’m a little annoyed with the post office right now because they have sent at least one package back and two are nowhere to be found. But we have had some wonderful surprises show up and the kids LOVE checking our box to find mail or help to carry the boxes to the car. No matter how big. (I just found out the packages were sent different ways, so hoping that just means one way takes longer than the other.)

IMG_0190

IMG_0191

IMG_0192

Trip to the commissary with Sophie. Those are almost always entertaining. I’ve learned to become much more patient than I have ever been, of course allowing yourself 3 hours to get through the store AND going at 7:45 in the morning really helps. She almost always has a purse, we both have our sweater/sweatshirt and she MUST grab a newspaper when we leave. She loves that they have kid carts there so she can help me and thinks it’s funny that hers fills up before mine does.

IMG_0195

IMG_0197

Sophie’s outfits are either really cute or really funny. She has several pairs of bloomers, most of which are little shorts, that she can wear under her skirts and dresses, but the kids still say they are panties. She hates this, so she has decided to wear leggings under everything. And they never match. I love it because my sister was the same way when she was little. They both need shorts so when they hang upside down from the monkey bars nobody sees their panties!

IMG_0198

One day Christopher got out of school early (they only had one full week in November if that tells you anything) and it was a really windy day, so Sophie and I decided to take our bikes to pick him up. I walked mine and Christopher’s bikes and Sophie rode hers. He was SO excited! Poor Sophie was a little tired on the way home, but we made it and hope to do it again another day.

IMG_0202

We went to the post office after school one afternoon and had 4 packages in the mail! The kids were so super excited to see all the goodies that a sweet friend of mine had sent us. It was so awesome and exactly what we needed.

IMG_0263

An awesome friend of mine here made this adorable Grinch quilt for the kids.

IMG_0261

This is how Sophie dressed one morning when we had to run errands. She almost made it the whole time with the wig on, but it started to itch and we had to take it off after a while.

IMG_0215

Brandon worked REALLY hard getting our house ready for Rota Walk. Our street is named Rota and every year it where everyone comes to trick or treat and see Christmas lights. Having never really done either of these things before we thought it would be fun to dive into the madness we heard it could be. The walk is this weekend and we can’t wait! I will post photos, but go ahead and know that Christmas lights don’t photo nearly as well as they look in person. We had a trial run last night and it’s going to be awesome!!

IMG_0213

Brandon and Sophie making a coffee cake one Saturday morning. I can’t tell you enough how much we have enjoyed Brandon’s new work schedule. It’s been so fun to have him around so much and I feel like I have my best friend back. It’s been 9 years since we’ve spent this much time together. πŸ™‚

IMG_0210

Here’s a peek at our theme for our outdoor decorations. hehe!!

IMG_0291

I caught Sophie lying on her back staring up at the sky one afternoon. This girl has my heart totally wrapped.

IMG_0288

Last Saturday night we had Brandon’s office Christmas party. We had so much fun and they even had this awesome photographer there with all these props. Here we are with our friends, the Johnsons.

IMG_0283

And here’s Brandon and I at our table. I forgot to mention that they had a vintage theme. We were all trying to figure out what in the world to wear and how in the world to find it on this tiny island, but I think we pulled it off pretty well.

IMG_0274

Here’s our yard in the day time. I can’t get a good photo of the whole thing, you just have to see it in person. We have about 45 tiny flamingos with spinning wings staked into our yard. It’s loud when the wind gets blowing. One of my neighbors told me that it freaks her dog out every time she walks him in front of our house. We have been told how happy our yard makes everyone. Our sign on the wall says “Mele Kalikimaka from the Hemphills”.Β  It’s Merry Christmas in Hawaiian. We love it. πŸ™‚

IMG_0273

We have been collecting coconuts around base, not sure what we would do with them, but figured it would be fun to have them and one afternoon while Brandon was working the kids wanted to drill a hole in it to try the milk. Sophie was the only one that liked it.

IMG_0271

Brandon building the frame for our photo op in front of our house.IMG_0266

Sophie proudly helping. And looking great while doing it. Pop would be so proud. πŸ™‚

IMG_0269

Well, that’s all I have for now. I apologize for them being a little out of order and for it taking so long to get them on here. I will try to do better next time. I also have some hilarious videos of the kids I want to post, but haven’t figured out how to do that yet. Belly aching laughter from those two! We have had some great family moments lately and I’m loving it!

2 thoughts on “December so far…

  1. I am so happy you have your family all together – especially here at Christmas. You could write a book about the Adventures of Sophie!! LOVE the wig! You probably don’t even need a TV for entertainment – but I can relate to the hanging upside down part – I used to do that from the clothes line pole!! Merry Christmas!!

Leave a Reply

