Thanksgiving Week

I really thought I would have this post up sooner, but I kept putting it at the bottom of my list. We had a great, and very busy, Thanksgiving week here in Guam. We had three different meals to attend and I was so happy to be at each one.

First, up this week was the movie Sophia the First finally coming on tv. All the tv shows come on the following night here. It’s a little confusing because they advertise the night it comes on in the States, but since we are ahead of you we have to wait for it to come on the next night. And I have to remember it’s on at the eastern time zone and not central. Which means I really have to think when it comes to recording. Then you throw in that the timer is slightly off so I have to adjust every recording so we don’t miss the beginning or end of a show….. let’s just say I watch most things on hulu. Anyway, I tell you about this only because Sophie has been asking for a month if it’s time for Sophia the First to come on. I let her plan the menu for that night (she asked for hot dogs and chicken, but I told her we could leave the hot dog part out) and she wanted to make a cake…. and popcorn. Before she went to school that afternoon I let her help me make the cake.

Sophie really loves corn on the cob, so we had that with our chicken. And since the kids had been studying about Thanksgiving/Native Americans, Christopher jumped at the chance to help get the corn ready. They were so serious!

Daddy couldn’t wait until the movie to eat the cake so we dove in as soon as we finished supper. It was really yummy!

Tuesday was the Thanksgiving feast at Sophie’s preschool. All the classes brought food to share, but first we went to Sophie’s class and they sang some songs for us. The girls were dressed as Pilgrims and the boys as Native Americans. They were so cute!! And as much as Sophie loves getting attention from others, when she is supposed to be up in front of a crowd, she freezes. It’s really funny! (What’s even funnier is the next day at our parent-teacher conference her teacher talked about how shy and quiet she is! I about fell out of my chair. She was surprised to hear me say that she doesn’t stop talking at home unless she’s asleep. Funny girl!)

She’s such a cutie and so proud of her daddy! She wants him to take her to school, pick her up and stay home with her when she’s there. I think she would glue herself to his side if he would let her. πŸ™‚

This is the only picture I took on Thanksgiving day. Sophie has really been missing Alabama, especially her best buddy, Joshua. We were so happy to get to Skype with them that morning. The two of them giggled and chatted for about 20 minutes. They have such a special and precious friendship. I told her one day on the way to school that she can make new friends just like she is with Joshua, her response was, “No. There is only one Joshua and I want him.” Poor girl is having fun here, by sometimes I want to just pack it all up and take her back to her friend. Thankfully this week was much better. All she needs is time and a good Skype with her buddy every now and then. πŸ™‚

The day after Thanksgiving we went to the mall to see if we could find anything for Brandon and I to wear to his office Christmas party. The kids found this huge “marble works” thing in the middle of the mall. It used pool table balls and a basketball instead. I think we stood there for about 20 minutes just watching it go.

We finally got the kids to go ride on the train. Funny, I know, making your kids go ride. They wanted to, we just had to remind them. Want to know how much it costs per kid to ride? One dollar each. Yup! We may not have much here in Guam, but we DO have $1 train rides at the mall! πŸ™‚

When we got home Brandon went to cut the grass and Sophie decided that she was going to sweep up the grass that was on the patio. She went inside to change her shoes and came out with her boots on. I love these boots. And they worked MUCH better with her outfit than her dress up high heels that she stomped around in all day. I’m sorry, I don’t care who you are, but high heels with a denim skirt just don’t work.

Saturday we decided to head down to the beach. We loaded the kayak on top of the van, grabbed all the buckets and shovels and chairs that we could and off we went. It was so nice to just sit and watch the kids play and Brandon to get to enjoy time in the water again. Nothing brings me more joy than you sit in the quiet and watch my family enjoying time outside.

On Sunday after church we went to a different beach with our friends, the Johnsons. They have been wanting to take us to Ritidian Beach, but we just haven’t made it yet. It was a beautiful, but rough, drive. Potholes that almost made Brandon want to turn around and get his jeep. It was actually kind of funny to watch several cars drive over the road because you didn’t care about being on the right side, you just wanted to avoid the holes. But once we got past it, it was glorious. I still can’t believe that we live here sometimes.

This is where we parked our cars. You back up to an opening and unload your stuff onto the beach.

Once we set up our tents everyone either went straight into the water to snorkel, play in the sand, take a nap in a chair or just relax in the water. Not sure who’s in this photo, but this was several of the kids and it looks like Brandon, snorkeling…

Here’s our set up…

Here’s our view, with Brandon and Sophie happy to be in the water again…

Our view to the right…

Our view to the left…

Brandon and I went for a walk with Sophie and Ben and when we came back the other boys had found a place under a tree to call their fort. Then my phone died. It was a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon!

One thought on “Thanksgiving Week

Leave a Reply

